Monday, December 18, 2017

What is Manas, Buddhi, Chitta, Ahamkara and Antahkarana? Sathya Sai explains it simply and succinctly

Bhagavan Sri Sathya Sai Baba says, "Although the mind is one, according to the different functions performed by it, different names are given to it. When it is engaged in the thought process, it is called Manas. When it is engaged in discriminating between what is permanent and what is transient, it is called Buddhi (intelligence). In its role as a reservoir of memory, it is called Chitta. When the mind identifies itself with the body, it is called Ahamkara (ego). The four names are related to the mind and their combined aspect constitutes Antahkarana (the inner instrument)."
Source: Discourse at the Poornachandra Auditorium, on 7- 7-1990, Gurupoornima day,

In other words one can say:

* Manas is thinking aspect of mind.
* Buddhi is intellectual analysis and discimination aspect of mind.
* Chitta is memory storage aspect of mind including storage of emotional impressions.
* Ahamkara is aspect of mind identifying itself with human body (including the mind; so mind-body complex)
* Antahkarana is the combined aspects of all of the above: Manas, Buddhi, Chitta and Ahamkara

Hindu scripture often talks about the importance of Antahkarana shuddhi - purification of inner mental instrument(s) - in the spiritual path. 

No comments:

Post a Comment